One of the problems I’ve found with college is that it leaves very little time for pleasure reading.  With long days of class and reading assignments, the last thing most students want to do is unwind with a good book.  I can’t speak for all students, but I know that the type of reading I do usually get around to is the Harry Potter series.  It’s quick, it’s easy, and I’ve read them all before so I can come in and out of the story with no problem.
The Harry Potter Series

The Harry Potter Series

As enjoyable as Harry’s adventures may be, it’s not my ideal reading.  Personally, I like to learn from books.  Some people learn by reading factual books, but I learn the most by reading authors with unique styles. 

One of my favorite writers of all time is Ernest Hemingway.  I have read several works by Hemingway, the most recent being For Whom the Bell Tolls.   After every time I finish a piece by Hemingway, I am left with the drive to someday write as well as Hemingway.

Hemingway

Hemingway

I am not the only one who is inspired by Hemingway’s writings.  Many people read and write blogs about Hemingway’s life or  how to write like Hemingway

And yet there are people out there who write about how they do not like Hemingway’s style at all.  Some think he is too simplistic, and dislike his language use.  In my opinion, Hemingway writes realistically, and  acurately represents the way people actually talk.  But for some, these to the point conversations are too clipped and uninteresting.

Whether you like Hemingway or not, it’s still useful to read his work.  I think literature classics are an important part of life, and most students don’t have the time or interest to read more complex books.  This goes for all classics, not just Hemingway.

